Welcome to Toft cum Lound and Manthorpe Parish Council

Dear residents of the Toft cum Lound and Manthorpe parish council. Should you require any assistance, please contact the clerk or any of the parish councillors.

About Parish Councils

Parish Councils have been around since 1894 when they were set up by Act of Parliament, but their origins go back to the Middle Ages.  Its main governing principles are set out in the Local Government Act 1972 & in particular in Schedule 12 of that Act.  This Act sets out some of the minimum requirements for Councils in relation to meetings, conduct & documentation, such as:-

  • Councils must meet a minimum of 4 times/year
  • They must keep minutes of their meetings
  • They must elect a Chairman from among their number
  • They must have their accounts audited in accordance with this & subsequent legislation
  • Meetings must be publicly advertised in advance within the area served by the Council
  • Councillors must, on taking office, sign a Declaration saying that they agree to be bound by a new Code of Conduct.  This code came into effect in May 2002, & covers matters such as the declaring of interests, standards & ethics.

Local Council meetings must be open to the Press & Public, but meetings can be closed to both if in the Councils opinion ‘publicity would be prejudicial to the public interest’  

Parish Councillors

Cllr James Brown - Chair

Cllr Richard Stephenson

Cllr Stu Brett

Cllr Richard Hartley

Cllr Sue Renner


Parish Clerk

Clerk - Rosemary Trollope-Bellew                            Email - tlampc2@gmail.com                          Telephone 01778 560634

County Councillor & District Councillor

County Councillor - Cllr Robert Reid                   Email -  cllrr.reid@lincolnshire.gov.uk                   Tel - 01778 395562

District Councillor - Cllr Penny Robins                Email - Penny.Robins@southkesteven.gov.uk     Tel - 07964 982095